Planning Commission


The Planning Commission was established by Mayor & City Council in 1987 with the adoption of Chapter 33 of the Lewes City Code, consisting of not less than 5 and not more than 9 members appointed by the Mayor & City Council for staggered terms of 3-years.

The Planning Commission’s authority has been vested by the State of Delaware in Chapter 7, Title 22 of the Delaware Code and by Resolution of the Lewes Mayor & City Council.

It is the responsibility of the Planning Commission to review and make recommendations to Mayor & City Council regarding land development, major & minor subdivision applications, amendments to the Zoning Ordinance and the updating of the Lewes Comprehensive Plan.


  • Drew McKay - Chairperson 
  • Melanie Moser - Vice Chairperson
  • Sumner Crosby - Secretary
  • Joe Hoechner - Liaison to HPARC
  • Nancy Staisey, PhD
  • Bob Heffernan
  • Thomas Jensen
  • Debra Evalds
  • Jonathan Sharp, PhD
  • Khalil Saliba - City Council (ex-officio)
  • Ted Becker - Mayor (ex-officio)
  • Tom Panetta- Board of Public Works (ex-officio)
  • Ann Marie Townshend - City Manager (ex-officio)
  • Glenn Mandalas - Attorney 
  • Janelle Cornwell, AICP - Municipal Planning & Development Officer
  • Jacqueline Doherty - Recording Secretary 


The Planning Commission meets the third Wednesday of each month at 6:30pm. Meetings are held with Council Chambers at City Hall, unless otherwise noted.

Pending applications may be reviewed and comments may be submitted on the City’s development review page


Subcommittee PROJECTS

Work on the following projects is coordinated by designated subcommittees:

Development Reviews

The link in Development Reviews will take you to the active development page.